Call for Submissions: 2017 Jordan Schnitzer Book Awards

The Association for Jewish Studies is pleased to announce the 2017 Jordan Schnitzer Book Awards, made possible by funding from the Jordan Schnitzer Family Foundation of Portland, Oregon. These awards recognize and promote outstanding scholarship in the field of Jewish Studies and honor scholars whose work embodies the best in the field: rigorous research, theoretical sophistication, innovative methodology, and excellent writing. AJS annually awards one winner and one finalist in each of four categories. The categories rotate over a two-year cycle, for a total of eight categories. Each winner will receive $10,000 and each finalist $2,000.

Deadline: May 23, 2017

The four submission categories for 2017 are:

  1. Jewish Literature and Linguistics
  2. Medieval and Early Modern Jewish History and Culture
  3. Modern Jewish History and Culture: Africa, Americas, Asia and Oceania
  4. Philosophy and Jewish Thought

For more information, you can visit the AJS website or contact Amy Weiss at