Research Awards & Prizes for Faculty and Graduate Students

Call for Submissions: 2017 Jordan Schnitzer Book Awards

The Association for Jewish Studies is pleased to announce the 2017 Jordan Schnitzer Book Awards, made possible by funding from the Jordan Schnitzer Family Foundation of Portland, Oregon. These awards recognize and promote outstanding scholarship in the field of Jewish Studies and honor scholars whose work embodies the best in the field: rigorous research, theoretical sophistication, innovative methodology, and excellent writing. AJS annually awards one winner and one finalist in each of four categories. The categories rotate over a two-year cycle, for a total of eight categories. Each winner will receive $10,000 and each finalist $2,000.

Deadline: May 23, 2017

The four submission categories for 2017 are:

  1. Jewish Literature and Linguistics
  2. Medieval and Early Modern Jewish History and Culture
  3. Modern Jewish History and Culture: Africa, Americas, Asia and Oceania
  4. Philosophy and Jewish Thought

For more information, you can visit the AJS website or contact Amy Weiss at

Charter Oak Cultural Center – Jewish Play Writing Contest – April 14, 2016

jewish playwritingWhat: Jewish Play Writing Contest
When: April 14, 2016 @ 7:00 PM
Where: The Charter Oak Cultural Center, 21 Charter Oak Avenue, Hartford, CT
An international search for the best unpublished Jewish plays, the Jewish Plays Project has vetted 913 plays from 650 writers worldwide since 2012.
Enjoy – and judge – this year’s top three.
Watch a cast of stellar actors read 20-minute sections from three plays, hear JPP Founder David Winitsky share the latest trends, and then use your cell phone to vote for the play that should continue on.
The ultimate winner gets a workshop production in New York as part of JPP’s OPEN: Festival of New Jewish Theater this June.

Alexander von Humboldt Foundation – Anneliese Maier Research Award

Nominations for the research award can be made for researchers from abroad from the fields of the humanities and social sciences whose scientific achievements have been internationally recognized in their research area and from whose research collaboration with specialist colleagues in Germany a sustainable contribution is expected towards the further internationalization of the humanities and social sciences in Germany.

The nomination deadline expires on April 30, 2015.